Tuesday, April 14, 2009

Back to the cable/internet company

My husband fixed the internet problem, turns out the guys who installed it ran the two cables into the house, one for cable & one for internet but instead of connecting each line to the appropriate receptical, they spit one cable with a splitter and sent one to internet and one to cable, my husband starting looking around and discovered this mistake. When the cable guy (who sounded like someone straight out of the back of a kentucky hollow-"holler rat") called to confirm his appointment to repair my service, at first I thought someone was playing a joke on me, (he must have gotten his SSI check cut off and had to start to work again) when I finally realized it was the cable guy, I explained that we had fixed the problem ourselves -he sounded happy and hung up. I have a feeling though that because my husband took upon himself to do the simple task of removing the splitter and hooking the cables into their appropriate place, that in the future if we have a problem that requires repair, they will bill us and said that they have to charge us because any repairs that are done by us instead of them, voids the free repairs. hah!

Road Rage!!!

To catch up-my 15 y/o step-daughter got liquered up on the school bus friday morning with some friends, got busted and sent to juvenile jail...like we didn't see that coming! It's about time! Maybe this was her wake up call before it's too late. But to the road rage...ok, yesterday evening after work I have to go to pick up my prescriptions that I dropped off earlier that day-Already in a bad mood-I tried to go through the drive thru-which was impossible, I waited, waited and waited, finally I back out of the drive thru which still had 3 cars in front of me, drive around trying to find a parking spot, almost get hit by two other drivers (idiot drivers!)I finally find a spot and get out and hit my knee on the door-I sit back down in the car for a few seconds until the pain eases and I start to walk inside, when I noticed that the 3 cars in front of me at the drive thru are gone! Damn! O.K., I get my prescriptions and get into the car, almost get hit by another car, curse! I stop to return the two dvd's I rented when yet another idiot almost backs into me as I'm pulling into the parking lot...curse!!! Curse!!! Fuming by this point, I pull out and down the street to my next stop-the tanning salon, Great! the parking lot is full, I drive around the lot when there is a young punk in a junky car sitting in the middle of the road while two girls are standing outside the car, leaning inside of each of the windows chatting with the guy, I cannot get through- my frustration growing I sit there, sit there, sit there, they know i'm there because they looked up at me when I first pulled up to them, ignored me, my anger boiled over and I yell out to get out of my way! the guy behind the wheel pulls the car over so I can pass and one of the girls raises up and starts to yell at me after I start around the corner, I stop, back up, roll down my window and yell, move that piece of crap so I can get through, you skanky little whore! Then I realize that this is may be an underage minor, I should probably not hit her so I curse some more and drive away. I feel my face flaming-half embarassed and half mad. I am sure some of you are probably reading this and shaking your head in disapproval-I know I should control my anger, and I do most of the time, but catch me at the right place at the right time, and someone is gonna get it! That's just me. However, I am glad that some nasty little skanks got it than to have held that anger in until I got home and let it lose on my daughter or husband. They got lucky this time! Yes I can be a bitch at times, but most of the time I am caring, comical, and nice. Just don't piss me off too much.

Friday, April 10, 2009

Top of my Shit list today

I hate cable/internet companies!!!! I had one company that I used for the past 3 years for internet (dsl) & phone, I was supposed to be getting 3 mbps, but it was slow and froze up and I constantly had to reset the modum, and the rates kept going up so finally, I'd had enough, I switched to another company that has cable internet 5 mbps for cheaper and cable is so much faster than dsl, well it was great for about six days...then it wouldn't connect...reset the modum, restarted computer, call tech support, first I talk to a guy with a foreign accent who told me to do what I already did, he passed to buck, connected me to another tech, who sounded like doogie howser but stupid, I imagine a teenage boy sitting behind a computer screen chewing gum while surfing porn, he knows nothing, says he will send out a tech on monday, monday!!! today is wednesday for God's sake! I have an ebay business to run! best he can do. maybe they should change their name to Time-Creeper! Thinking the modum is junk, yesterday (thursday) I go to the local Time-Creeper office to exchange the modum to save time. I get it home, hook it up, nothing. A rep from Time-creeper calls me twice yesterday to check and see if it's working-which I find so strange, usually you have to practically hold a gun to someone's head to get to talk to a live person, I tell the person on the other end that it still isn't working and she tells me that they are having a area-wide problem with internet service. So, I still have no internet-that's one strick for this company! (I'm writing this at work). Pray for the techs at Time Creeper because my patience is wearing thin and they will more than likely get cursed!

Monday, April 6, 2009

Batten' down the hatches!

last night was quite interesting. We had a tornado warning at around 9pm and where I live in KY is consider tornado alley-there have many several pass through and I am totally scared of the thought of a tornado-we have no basement and the wind was really hard and everything the wind picked up I freaked out! I drag everyone to my walk-in closet which you obviously cannot walk into because I have too much crap in there. So it's Jim (husband) Brooke 12 y/o daughter, me and our full grown yellow lab zoey crammed into a so-called walk-in closet, we are so close together that we would be well cushioned if it did hit! It was actually comical if you could have seen it. It passed uneventfully, it was 70 degrees last night and today it has snowed all day-go figure!

Sunday, April 5, 2009

Teen identity

Today I put blue highlights in my 15 y/o son's hair. His natural hair color is dark brown so it's not really drastic, quite subtle, but enough to make a statement. He has been leaning towards the emo kid style the past couple of years even though his dad is totally against it, he stays with his dad through the week and me on the weekends, when I moved to our new town almost two years ago he tried it out but he is quite shy around new people and had a hard time adjusting to a huge school, his old school was tiny in comparison so he opted to go stay with his dad, even though he has major issues with his dad who has a very bad attitude when it comes to everything! Blake first got his ear pierced which he kept stretching it (gaged) until you can see through the hole but I told him that it stops there, no bigger! Yuck! He would have piercing everywhere and tatoos if I would let him....NOT! The hair I can handle but his dad with blow his top when he goes back tonight (no big surprise). I don't make a big production of small things like hair because he is just trying to find his identity and trying to fit in in this cruel world. I tell him to remind his dad of his big 80's perm when he was his age when he starts. :) Blake is really a good kid, he never goes anywhere other than school and to ball games, so I am thankful. MY husband's girl's ages 17 and 15, are all over the place, his ex has custody and because of their ages, there's not much he can do according to several lawyers. Their mom turns them lose and they are with bad friends, staying all night almost every night and the oldest one has already quit school and showed up at our house high at Christmas. I worry about what kind of future is in store for them.

Saturday, April 4, 2009

Habits

I have had a great day! Jim (loyal and loving husband of almost 3 years now) went fishing with a friend today, he came by a picked him up this morning and I went out to local yard sales today, love yardsales!!! I scored a great chanel purse for only $5.00 and brooke (12 year old daughter) some really cute tops and jeans. My original reason for going was to find ebay items to buy cheap and sale higher, but I didn't find anything that I thought would be ebay worthy, except the chanel bag, and I'm keepin' it! Then I went and bought a cute outfit at Cato's and got my nails done, I debated whether I should get my nails done or get a pedicure, I love them both but couldn't afford them both, my feet need attention but I can do it at home for almost the same results but people see my hands everyday so they won. I stopped to get gas and I saw a help wanted sign on the door, so now I'm thinking that would be a good second part time job to support all my habits like paying the bills, eating and getting my nails done and buying purses! I got "let go" from my other job that I had for seven looooong years at the health department. I did home visits to first time parents to offer them parenting tips and support, I liked my job but it did become quite stressful and I was becoming burned out and quit grouchy with coworkers and sometimes the supervisor but I wouldn't have called her a super-visor but a stupi-visor but that is another story. Anyway, after being unemployed for 9 months, I got a job as a receptionist, its easy and I like it but the pay sucks, therefore I may need a second job to support all my habits :)

Friday, April 3, 2009

PMS

Thank goodness its friday!!! My job pretty much consists of sitting at a desk asking visitors coming into the building I work in to show ID and sign in so they can pass through to where they are going. Today has been extremely slow and I am extremley PMS'ing! There for I have been about to fall asleep-cramping & craving soda & chocolate. Speaking of PMS, I recently I decided to stop taking my Zoloft (antidepressent/anxiety) medication because I was gaing so much weight and I blamed it partly on the zoloft, well, that was a bad idea. I had stopped taking the medication for about two weeks and I became very irritable, bad mood swings, my husband and I was constantly bickering so I asked him, had you rather have a nice fat wife or a bitchy skinny one? He opted for the fat nice one, so I'm back on the zoloft. I think I am going to try to slowly wean myself off of it though, I am taking half a pill daily instead of the whole thing and then eventually I am going to skip a pill every other day and see how that goes. I am looking forward to tommorrow, because my husband is planning on going fishing with a friend, he tells me he hasn't been fishing in probably ten years! wow, even I have been fishing about five years ago. He says he's never really been interested in it much, but he hates to tell his friend no. I am happy about it because I can never get a free moment away from him when we are not working. We have been married for almost three years now (second marriage) and we go everywhere together. I need a break! I've not decided what I will do yet but I am as excited as a lottery winner! (hope it doesn't rain)

Thursday, April 2, 2009

Just started this yesterday and already I am addicted! I stole these twenty questions from someday I'll get there, and I think she stole them from someone else...hee hee!

Twenty questions:

1. Peanut butter and jelly or a grilled cheese sandwich? Depends on my mood, but I usually eat grilled cheese most often, love it with onions chopped up on it, yumm! I like pb&j, but I often don't even think about it, hmmm...maybe I'll go home for lunch and have one!

2. Do you like pickles?YUCK! NO!!!

3. Why do you think red symbolizes passion? What do you think of when you see the color red? Do you own very many red articles of clothing?Well, red is typically associated with heat, hot and fire, so I guess that is why passion and of it meaning anger, wow! maybe I am a really angry person and don't realize it because I tend to lean towards items that are red, I have a red wallet and purse and some shoes and sunglasses, and a few clothes, but it doesnt really look good on me so I usually wear other colors and make my accessories red.

.4. What color is your underwear?white - 95% of my underwear is white. I have to 'match' like that...(I also stole this answer from someday)

5. What's on your mind right now?I'm hungry!
6. Do you bite your nails?unfortunately, yes
7. You're stranded on a desert island with one fictional character. Who is it?superman, because he could fly us away from there!
8. Do you daydream?yeah, I guess.
9. How do you like your eggs?over easy and devilled
10. Where did you go for kindergarten?Owsley county kentucky
11. Do you like snow?Hate it!
12. Do you like blue cheese?don't think I've ever tried it, even though I love love love cheese, guess it seems too close to "mold" to me.
13. Do you get nervous before doctor appointments?no, just dentists-ouchy!
14. What do you prefer to drink in the morning?Usually pop/soda, sometimes I try to down a little OJ and occassionally coffee.
15. Can you do push ups?not sure, not tried it in a long time-I don't excersize, but I should
16. Do you own slippers?Yes!! Got my first pair ever this year at christmas
17. Favorite color?red
18. Would you be a pirate?no
19. What's in your pocket right now?No pockets today
.20. What were you doing 12 AM last night?asleep!!

Reality is a slap in the face

I will be 40 next january and the reality of it is really stinging. I had a friend that, I remember when she turned 41 about 4 years ago how she reacted, I laughed at her and thought that she was overreacting, I however, was 35 at the time, age, phhh! Big deal, don't bother me none...(yet). So, the reality of my aging set in about a year ago when I first noticed more gray hairs coming in, that's ok, more of an excuse to color & highlight my hair! Then I noticed my eyes where looking kinda tired, that will be ok, I just need more sleep and I'll be good as new! Then, last summer after I got "let go" from my job and was unemployed forEVER I started gaining weight, lots of weight, and I began to feel like I was aging drastically. The reality really set in when I started going to cosmetology school last year, which I've wanted to do for years but never got around to it. By the time I started, most of the other students had parents the same age as me and one girl even started calling me her mom!!! SLAP! So now I am spending day after day feeling fat and old, and I keep dwelling on it and trying to figure out what to do, I don't know if I should try to fix my hair and dress to feel/look younger or does that make me look trashy because it's obvious that I'm not young and should be dressing my age? I try out the older more sophisticated look, I cut my hair to above my shoulders, but I still cannot totally cut it off I don't like it too short, and I try to dress my age, and some days I like it and then some days I look in the mirror and go "wow, do I look old, I gotta get out my hip clothes and jeans!" So, right now, I guess you would say I am in the middle of an identity crisis and I don't claim to have any one certain style. Well, back to work for me!

Wednesday, April 1, 2009

Cable companies

Yesterday I switched cable and internet companies. I used to have Directv which kept getting rediculously expensive and I didn't even have any movie channels and my internet provider (windstream)was outrageous also AND the DSL was slow (I was supposed to be getting 3 mbps, but it drug along and would freeze up and I was constantly resetting the modem. So I switched to Time Warner Cable for a bundle deal, cable internet (alot faster) and digital cable with movie pack, I am saving about 50.00 a month, it I'm sure there are clitches to their company that I will find in a few months, you never find them until it's too late. So yesterday the cable man comes to my house to hook it up and it looks like a cable army in my driveway, three vans and three guys, what do they think they are going to do, hook up a skyscraper? I can see my landlady now, I bet she was hanging out her window trying to figure out what's going on, when she asks...and she will, I am going to tell her no we did not have the cable company here that I don't know what she is talking about then she will ask the neighbors and they will say no and the whole situation will drive her nuts. I live in a mobile home -but not a trashy one, it's the caddy of mobile homes (when it's clean and neat) I bought it brand new 4 years ago, notice how I am trying to justify the fact that I live in a trailer, but I rent the lot that it sits on, hense the nosey landlord. So, I'm not the best housekeeper, I try to keep it from getting too nasty and try to do a cleaning weekly, but we have alot of stuff not to mention all the ebay crap that I have to sell, dog hair floating around because yellow labs shed horribly and I hate cleaning. So I was quit embarrassed for the cable guys to be in my home, as I usually am embarrassed any time anyone comes over, but why is it that when you spend 8 hours cleaning your house and its spotless you never see a sole for weeks, and then when its totally trashed, bam! you have company and you are still in your jammies and no bra, awkward!

Ok, I started this post this morning from work and I had to stop it at least half a dozen times and now I am at home sitting in front of my laptop. I think from now on I will post from home. Now i'm on to my ebay account to sell some more junk....or goodies, depending on who you talk to. later!