Tuesday, February 9, 2010

Unemployed...again

Ok, I did it, I quit my job. I quit on February 1st. I let my emotions run ammuck and in a howling rage I grabbed my personal junk, announced that I could not take it any more and left! I had been aiming towards resigning by the first of february and had a job lined up without a solid start day but approximate start date of February 1st, so with this knowledge and my moment of insanity and plunged out the door! About a mile down the road I started to think....I am totally screwed! I only have one and a half day to get paid for....I went directly to the place of employement that I am waiting to begin work at and asked when I would be starting (as a data entry operator) no fuse, no muse, just typing....she said that they haven't gotten the work in yet but they should be calling me by the end of the week or first of next week. I had to forgo a background check and that was the initial waiting game....which the human resources person told me if there had been a problem I would know by now. There shouldn't be a problem, I have NEVEr been arrested, Never had a ticket even. Only filed bankruptcy which has prevented me from getting several other jobs, who knew that would effect your employment future!
So, I apply for work with a competetor company in desperation, they call me the next day to come for an interview, and then they call again to come to a second interview. Yeah! I went to that interview today, which the money sounds great and the job, I know how to do it, but there is something that worries me about it. Where is my data entry job...damn it! I stopped in there again on friday, the lady at the front desk says she hasnt been given the list to call the new hires to start yet.

I am really enjoying my vacation, I'm relaxed, my house has never been cleaner and I have been cooking such nice meals for my family! but the money is gonna run out soon....

Friday, January 29, 2010

Will I ever find the right job?

Well here I am again, it's been nearly a year sense I've been here, sense my last blog I've switched jobs (which is the main reason I stopped blogging-took alot of my time and energy) and I have turned 40....
About the job, I began there on June 1, 2009, I am a customer service rep at a durable medical equipment company-we rent out and sale equipment such as hospital beds, wheelchairs, home oxygen and sleep apnea machines (which is a thorn in my side) dealing with insurance companies are a major pain which is mostly what my job consists of. I hate my job but it pays ok for this area, but for the crap I deal with, it should be more. The company I work for is like working for hitler. When I arrived at my job our office had no manager as he had been fired the month before I began, but nobody told me that until after I was on board, the "acting" manager was from another location. Three days after I started my job the other CSR quite leaving me holding the bag full of shit that this job is! You are not properly trained, you get bits and pieces of how to do everything from other employees from other locations do what they tell you to later be chewed out by someone at corporate that says you are doing it all wrong! They watch every move you make and then when you least expect it that bite like a snake hiding in the tall weeds, you know they're in there someplace but you never know when they are gonna strike!

I have discovered that this company has a huge turn over in employees for two reasons 1) you either get fired for one thing you do wrong-or at least they lead you to believe you are doing a great job and then when they are done with you toss you aside-or 2) The organization of the company is so wack that you ride it out until it drives you over the edge and you quit.

Our office has two demons working there (which as does most offices) but they are like imature little kids and if you do one tiny thing they don't like they email corporate. What makes it bad is that they try to act like they are your best friend and all along they are stabbing you in the back. If you are gonna be a bitch, do it with pride and don't try to be something else, everyone knows and you are not fooling anyone. The two demon bitches played a big roll in the recent clean sweep of our office which took place a few days after Christmas. Our manager who came on board about a month after me, and a technician/driver. They fired the manager for not firing the tech for a mistake he made. So, they ended up hiring another CSR after me and we get along great but the two demons hate her and have tried to get her fired so many times for mistakes she has made. Which when you are new you will make mistakes because you are never given correct training. Every once in a while I am still told I am doing something wrong. I have been waiting on my walking papers, almost hoping for them, it would almost be a relief. The only problem is there are very few jobs where I live. I have applied for a few jobs and hope to get out of hell soon.

I just turned 40 and you would think that by this age I would have settled into a permanent career by now....NOT! I feel like such a loser. I have no college education mostly because when I finished high school I never really knew it was an option. None of my family had ever went to college and I thought you had to be rich and extremely smart to go to college and I didn't realize that making a living would be so rough with it. Then by the time I realized I needed to go, I was in my first marriage and he didn't want me to go---said we couldn't afford for him alone to work, but now I realize that was just because he was affraid I would be better than him.

Now i'm in my second marriage, we have debt, he has child support to pay and we really cannot afford for me to leave a job to go to college, and even if I did, I still don't know what I would want to do. I don't think I would like the nursing field, I did the nurse aid thing and know how it works besides, I almost faited when I had my blood drawn a few days ago. I would hate teaching. I am unsure about social work---had a job linked into that field and did not like that either. I did try cosmetology school and I kinda liked it but there's no money in it here. Any suggestions?

Tuesday, April 14, 2009

Back to the cable/internet company

My husband fixed the internet problem, turns out the guys who installed it ran the two cables into the house, one for cable & one for internet but instead of connecting each line to the appropriate receptical, they spit one cable with a splitter and sent one to internet and one to cable, my husband starting looking around and discovered this mistake. When the cable guy (who sounded like someone straight out of the back of a kentucky hollow-"holler rat") called to confirm his appointment to repair my service, at first I thought someone was playing a joke on me, (he must have gotten his SSI check cut off and had to start to work again) when I finally realized it was the cable guy, I explained that we had fixed the problem ourselves -he sounded happy and hung up. I have a feeling though that because my husband took upon himself to do the simple task of removing the splitter and hooking the cables into their appropriate place, that in the future if we have a problem that requires repair, they will bill us and said that they have to charge us because any repairs that are done by us instead of them, voids the free repairs. hah!

Road Rage!!!

To catch up-my 15 y/o step-daughter got liquered up on the school bus friday morning with some friends, got busted and sent to juvenile jail...like we didn't see that coming! It's about time! Maybe this was her wake up call before it's too late. But to the road rage...ok, yesterday evening after work I have to go to pick up my prescriptions that I dropped off earlier that day-Already in a bad mood-I tried to go through the drive thru-which was impossible, I waited, waited and waited, finally I back out of the drive thru which still had 3 cars in front of me, drive around trying to find a parking spot, almost get hit by two other drivers (idiot drivers!)I finally find a spot and get out and hit my knee on the door-I sit back down in the car for a few seconds until the pain eases and I start to walk inside, when I noticed that the 3 cars in front of me at the drive thru are gone! Damn! O.K., I get my prescriptions and get into the car, almost get hit by another car, curse! I stop to return the two dvd's I rented when yet another idiot almost backs into me as I'm pulling into the parking lot...curse!!! Curse!!! Fuming by this point, I pull out and down the street to my next stop-the tanning salon, Great! the parking lot is full, I drive around the lot when there is a young punk in a junky car sitting in the middle of the road while two girls are standing outside the car, leaning inside of each of the windows chatting with the guy, I cannot get through- my frustration growing I sit there, sit there, sit there, they know i'm there because they looked up at me when I first pulled up to them, ignored me, my anger boiled over and I yell out to get out of my way! the guy behind the wheel pulls the car over so I can pass and one of the girls raises up and starts to yell at me after I start around the corner, I stop, back up, roll down my window and yell, move that piece of crap so I can get through, you skanky little whore! Then I realize that this is may be an underage minor, I should probably not hit her so I curse some more and drive away. I feel my face flaming-half embarassed and half mad. I am sure some of you are probably reading this and shaking your head in disapproval-I know I should control my anger, and I do most of the time, but catch me at the right place at the right time, and someone is gonna get it! That's just me. However, I am glad that some nasty little skanks got it than to have held that anger in until I got home and let it lose on my daughter or husband. They got lucky this time! Yes I can be a bitch at times, but most of the time I am caring, comical, and nice. Just don't piss me off too much.

Friday, April 10, 2009

Top of my Shit list today

I hate cable/internet companies!!!! I had one company that I used for the past 3 years for internet (dsl) & phone, I was supposed to be getting 3 mbps, but it was slow and froze up and I constantly had to reset the modum, and the rates kept going up so finally, I'd had enough, I switched to another company that has cable internet 5 mbps for cheaper and cable is so much faster than dsl, well it was great for about six days...then it wouldn't connect...reset the modum, restarted computer, call tech support, first I talk to a guy with a foreign accent who told me to do what I already did, he passed to buck, connected me to another tech, who sounded like doogie howser but stupid, I imagine a teenage boy sitting behind a computer screen chewing gum while surfing porn, he knows nothing, says he will send out a tech on monday, monday!!! today is wednesday for God's sake! I have an ebay business to run! best he can do. maybe they should change their name to Time-Creeper! Thinking the modum is junk, yesterday (thursday) I go to the local Time-Creeper office to exchange the modum to save time. I get it home, hook it up, nothing. A rep from Time-creeper calls me twice yesterday to check and see if it's working-which I find so strange, usually you have to practically hold a gun to someone's head to get to talk to a live person, I tell the person on the other end that it still isn't working and she tells me that they are having a area-wide problem with internet service. So, I still have no internet-that's one strick for this company! (I'm writing this at work). Pray for the techs at Time Creeper because my patience is wearing thin and they will more than likely get cursed!

Monday, April 6, 2009

Batten' down the hatches!

last night was quite interesting. We had a tornado warning at around 9pm and where I live in KY is consider tornado alley-there have many several pass through and I am totally scared of the thought of a tornado-we have no basement and the wind was really hard and everything the wind picked up I freaked out! I drag everyone to my walk-in closet which you obviously cannot walk into because I have too much crap in there. So it's Jim (husband) Brooke 12 y/o daughter, me and our full grown yellow lab zoey crammed into a so-called walk-in closet, we are so close together that we would be well cushioned if it did hit! It was actually comical if you could have seen it. It passed uneventfully, it was 70 degrees last night and today it has snowed all day-go figure!

Sunday, April 5, 2009

Teen identity

Today I put blue highlights in my 15 y/o son's hair. His natural hair color is dark brown so it's not really drastic, quite subtle, but enough to make a statement. He has been leaning towards the emo kid style the past couple of years even though his dad is totally against it, he stays with his dad through the week and me on the weekends, when I moved to our new town almost two years ago he tried it out but he is quite shy around new people and had a hard time adjusting to a huge school, his old school was tiny in comparison so he opted to go stay with his dad, even though he has major issues with his dad who has a very bad attitude when it comes to everything! Blake first got his ear pierced which he kept stretching it (gaged) until you can see through the hole but I told him that it stops there, no bigger! Yuck! He would have piercing everywhere and tatoos if I would let him....NOT! The hair I can handle but his dad with blow his top when he goes back tonight (no big surprise). I don't make a big production of small things like hair because he is just trying to find his identity and trying to fit in in this cruel world. I tell him to remind his dad of his big 80's perm when he was his age when he starts. :) Blake is really a good kid, he never goes anywhere other than school and to ball games, so I am thankful. MY husband's girl's ages 17 and 15, are all over the place, his ex has custody and because of their ages, there's not much he can do according to several lawyers. Their mom turns them lose and they are with bad friends, staying all night almost every night and the oldest one has already quit school and showed up at our house high at Christmas. I worry about what kind of future is in store for them.