Friday, January 29, 2010

Will I ever find the right job?

Well here I am again, it's been nearly a year sense I've been here, sense my last blog I've switched jobs (which is the main reason I stopped blogging-took alot of my time and energy) and I have turned 40....
About the job, I began there on June 1, 2009, I am a customer service rep at a durable medical equipment company-we rent out and sale equipment such as hospital beds, wheelchairs, home oxygen and sleep apnea machines (which is a thorn in my side) dealing with insurance companies are a major pain which is mostly what my job consists of. I hate my job but it pays ok for this area, but for the crap I deal with, it should be more. The company I work for is like working for hitler. When I arrived at my job our office had no manager as he had been fired the month before I began, but nobody told me that until after I was on board, the "acting" manager was from another location. Three days after I started my job the other CSR quite leaving me holding the bag full of shit that this job is! You are not properly trained, you get bits and pieces of how to do everything from other employees from other locations do what they tell you to later be chewed out by someone at corporate that says you are doing it all wrong! They watch every move you make and then when you least expect it that bite like a snake hiding in the tall weeds, you know they're in there someplace but you never know when they are gonna strike!

I have discovered that this company has a huge turn over in employees for two reasons 1) you either get fired for one thing you do wrong-or at least they lead you to believe you are doing a great job and then when they are done with you toss you aside-or 2) The organization of the company is so wack that you ride it out until it drives you over the edge and you quit.

Our office has two demons working there (which as does most offices) but they are like imature little kids and if you do one tiny thing they don't like they email corporate. What makes it bad is that they try to act like they are your best friend and all along they are stabbing you in the back. If you are gonna be a bitch, do it with pride and don't try to be something else, everyone knows and you are not fooling anyone. The two demon bitches played a big roll in the recent clean sweep of our office which took place a few days after Christmas. Our manager who came on board about a month after me, and a technician/driver. They fired the manager for not firing the tech for a mistake he made. So, they ended up hiring another CSR after me and we get along great but the two demons hate her and have tried to get her fired so many times for mistakes she has made. Which when you are new you will make mistakes because you are never given correct training. Every once in a while I am still told I am doing something wrong. I have been waiting on my walking papers, almost hoping for them, it would almost be a relief. The only problem is there are very few jobs where I live. I have applied for a few jobs and hope to get out of hell soon.

I just turned 40 and you would think that by this age I would have settled into a permanent career by now....NOT! I feel like such a loser. I have no college education mostly because when I finished high school I never really knew it was an option. None of my family had ever went to college and I thought you had to be rich and extremely smart to go to college and I didn't realize that making a living would be so rough with it. Then by the time I realized I needed to go, I was in my first marriage and he didn't want me to go---said we couldn't afford for him alone to work, but now I realize that was just because he was affraid I would be better than him.

Now i'm in my second marriage, we have debt, he has child support to pay and we really cannot afford for me to leave a job to go to college, and even if I did, I still don't know what I would want to do. I don't think I would like the nursing field, I did the nurse aid thing and know how it works besides, I almost faited when I had my blood drawn a few days ago. I would hate teaching. I am unsure about social work---had a job linked into that field and did not like that either. I did try cosmetology school and I kinda liked it but there's no money in it here. Any suggestions?

No comments:

Post a Comment